Bruckner Package

Symphony No. 4 in E-flat major «Romantic»

Anton Bruckner described his Fourth Symphony as «Romantic», and under this name it soon became his most popular work. Introduced by an idyllic horn call motif, the Fourth Symphony – Bruckner’s first in a major key – is characterized by a warm, natural, luminous underpinning. Both the slow movement, with its funeral march character, and the sometimes frighteningly-dark and powerful final movement are in stark contrast to the symphony‘s initial
warmth. As was often the case, Bruckner revised the symphony numerous times in the run-up to its premiere, which was given by the Vienna Philharmonic in 1881. Fabio Luisi recorded the 1878 version, with the finale from the 1880 version, with the Philharmonia Zürich. This version has long-since established itself as the official concert version of Bruckner’s Fourth Symphony.

Sinphony No. 8 c minor

Fabio Luisi, General Musical Director of the Philharmonia Zürich, calls Anton Bruckner a "master builder by musical means" and compares his monumental Eighth Symphony with a "gigantic cathedral". The original version of the symphony, completed in 1887, was not well understood by Bruckner's contemporaries, and the criticism of his friends led him to revise the work considerably. However, Fabio Luisi is convinced by the perfection of the original version - which he has now recorded in the studio with the Philharmonia Zürich - and finds that the musical primal forces inherent in this symphony are particularly well expressed in this version. In the Philharmonia Zürich, an opera orchestra, Luisi sees the ideal orchestra for Bruckner's symphonies: only opera orchestras have the necessary, rich experience with the compositions of Richard Wagner, of which Bruckner's sound is decisively shaped.

​​​​
Fabio Luisi Conductor
Philharmonia Zürich

Anton Bruckner
Symphony No. 4 in E-flat major
«Romantic»
CD 77.44 min
Booklet: German, English, French

Sinphony No. 8 c minor
Original version, 1887
Double-CD 92.18 min
Booklet: German, English, French

CHF 40

inkl. VAT., plus CHF 5 shipping cost
Please note that any customs duties may apply to deliveries abroad.

KAUFEN

Bruckner Package

Sinfonie No. 4 in Es-Dur «Romantisch»

Anton Bruckner bezeichnete seine vierte Sinfonie als «Romantische», und unter diesem Titel ist sie bald sein populärstes Werk geworden. Eingeleitet von einem idyllischen Hornruf-Motiv ist die Vierte – Bruckners erste Sinfonie in einer Dur-Tonart – von einem naturhaft-freundlichen und lichtvollen Grundton geprägt. Im Kontrast dazu stehen der langsame Satz mit seinem Trauermarschcharakter und der stellenweise erschreckend düstere und wuchtige
Finalsatz. Wie so oft, hat Bruckner auch diese Sinfonie vielfach überarbeitet, bevor sie 1881 von den Wiener Philharmonikern uraufgeführt wurde. Fabio Luisi hat mit der Philharmonia Zürich die Fassung von 1878, kombiniert
mit dem Finale von 1880 eingespielt. Diese Fassung hat sich auch im heutigen Konzertleben längst als die offizielle Version von Bruckners Vierter durchgesetzt.

Sinfonie No. 8 c-Moll

Fabio Luisi, Generalmusikdirektor der Philharmonia Zürich, nennt Anton Bruckner einen «Baumeister mit musikalischen Mitteln» und vergleicht dessen monumentale Achte Sinfonie mit einer «riesigen Kathedrale». Die 1887 fertiggestellte Urfassung der Sinfonie wurde von Bruckners Zeitgenossen in ihrer Kühnheit nicht richtig verstanden, und die Kritik seiner Freunde veranlasste ihn dazu, das Werk stark zu überarbeiten. Fabio Luisi ist jedoch von der Perfektion der Urfassung – die er nun mit der Philharmonia Zürich im Studio aufgenommen hat – überzeugt und findet, dass die musikalischen Urkräfte, die dieser Sinfonie innewohnen, in dieser Fassung besonders gut zum Ausdruck kommen. In der Philharmonia Zürich, einem Opernorchester, sieht Luisi den idealen Klangkörper für die Sinfonien Bruckners: nur Opernorchester haben die nötigen, reichen Erfahrungen mit den Kompositionen Richard Wagners, von denen Bruckners Klangwelten entscheidend geprägt sind.

Fabio Luisi Dirigent
Philharmonia Zürich

Anton Bruckner
Sinfonie No. 4 in Es-Dur
«Romantische»
CD 77.44 min
Booklet: Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch

Sinfonie No. 8 c-Moll
Urfassung, 1887
Doppel-CD 92.18 min
Booklet Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch

CHF 40

inkl. Mwst., zzgl. CHF 5 Versandkosten
Bitte beachten Sie, dass allfällige Zollgebühren bei Lieferung ins Ausland anfallen können.

KAUFEN