Tchaikovsky: Nutcracker and Mouse King

Thanks to Piotr Tchaikovsky’s catchy music, The Nutcracker is one of the most popular works in the ballet repertoire. In his acclaimed version for Ballett Zürich, Christian Spuck returns to the Christmas ballet’s original plot and transforms it into a poetical and fantastical production.

E.T.A Hoffmann's darkly romantic fairy tale «Nussknacker und Mausekönig» forms the core of Christian Spuck's work. Conventional ballet productions often neglect and simplify the literary source. Here, both the – often omitted – fairy tale about Princess Pirlipat and the story of the Prince turned into a wooden Nutcracker are part of the ballet.

On stage, Drosselmeier's workshop is transformed into an old revue theatre in which Hoffmann's bizarre figures come to life. In his choreography, Christian Spuck plays with the richness of these figures, with the absurdity and the exaggerated humour of Hoffmann's narrative cosmos, and draws on the sinister fantasy of the German writer.

Christian Spuck's «Nussknacker und Mausekönig» is a game of imagination and reality that skillfully jumps back and forth between several narrative levels and revives all facets of the fairy tale. It was enthusiastically acclaimed during a guest performance of Ballett Zürich at Moscow’s legendary Bolshoi Theatre.

Paul Connelly Conductor
Christian Spuck Choreographer and Stage Director
Rufus Didwiszus Set Designer
Martin Gebhardt Light Designer
Buki Shiff Costume Designer
Michael Küster, Claus Spahn Dramaturgy

Ballett Zürich
Junior Ballett
Philharmonia Zürich
Children's Choir and SoprAlti of the Opernhauses Zürich

Pyotr I. Tchaikovsky
Nutcracker and Mouse King

Recorded live at the Opernhaus Zürich, April 2018
Picture Format NTSC 16:9, Full HD
Sound Formats DTS HD Master Audio, PCM Stereo
Region Code 0
Running Time 110:21
Disc Format BD 25
Item Number ACC10449
EAN Code 42 6023483 203 7
GLN 42 6023483 000 2
FSK 0
Price Code 2112

DVD:CHF 32

inkl. Mwst., zzgl. CHF 5 Versandkosten
Please note that any customs duties may apply to deliveries abroad.

DVD KAUFEN

BLU-RAY KAUFEN

Tchaikovsky: Nussknacker und Mausekönig

Der Nussknacker gehört, nicht zuletzt wegen der eingängigen Musik von Pjotr Tschaikowski, zu den beliebtesten Werken des Ballettrepertoires. In seiner umjubelten Version für das Ballett Zürich bringt Christian Spuck dem Weihnachtsballett die ursprüngliche Handlung zurück und verwandelt es in eine poetisch-fantastische Produktion.

Christian Spuck erzählt E.T.A Hoffmanns schwarzromantisches Märchen «Nussknacker und Mausekönig» und stellt den literarischen Ursprung, in den gängigen Ballettfassungen oft stark vereinfacht und vernachlässigt, in den Mittelpunkt seiner Choreografie. Somit kehren auch das normalerweise gestrichene Märchen rund um Prinzessin Pirlipat sowie die Vorgeschichte des zur Holzpuppe erstarrten Nussknacker-Prinzen wieder zurück in das Ballett.

Auf der Bühne verwandelt sich Drosselmeiers Werkstatt in ein altes Revuetheater, in welchem Hoffmanns skurrile Figuren zu neuem Leben erwachen. Christian Spuck spielt in seiner Choreografie mit dem Reichtum dieser Figuren, der Absurdität und dem übertriebenen Humor in Hoffmanns Erzählkosmos und geht zurück zur unheimlichen Fantastik des deutschen Dichters.

Aus der scheinbaren Harmlosigkeit wird ein Spiel aus Imagination und Realität, das virtuos zwischen mehreren Wirklichkeitsebenen hin- und herspringt. Christian Spuck bringt mit seiner Inszenierung, die auch am legendären Moskauer Bolschoi Theater begeistert aufgenommen wurde, alle Facetten der Geschichte neu zum Leuchten.

Peter Connelly Musikalische Leitung
Christian Spuck Choregraphie & Inszenierung
Rufus Didwiszus Setdesign
Martin Gebhardt Lichtdesign
Buki Shiff Kostümdesign
Michael Küster, Claus Spahn Dramaturgie

Ballett Zürich
Junior Ballett
Philharmonia Zürich
Kinderchor & SoprAlti des Opernhauses Zürich


Pyotr I. Tchaikovsky
Nussknacker und Mausekönig

Eine Aufzeichnung aus dem Opernhaus Zürich, April 2018
Bildformate NTSC 16:9, Full HD
Tonformate DTS HD Master Audio, PCM Stereo
Region Code 0
Laufzeit 110:21
Diskformat BD 25
Artikelnummer ACC10449
EAN Code 42 6023483 203 7
GLN 42 6023483 000 2
FSK 0
Price Code 2112

DVD:CHF 32

inkl. Mwst., zzgl. CHF 5 Versandkosten
Bitte beachten Sie, dass allfällige Zollgebühren bei Lieferung ins Ausland anfallen können.

DVD KAUFEN

BLU-RAY KAUFEN