From Prague to Paris

2nd Lunch / Apéro Concert

Xiaoming Wang, Violin
Sebastian Eyb, Viola
Lev Sivkov, Violoncello
Yulia Levin, Piano

Bohuslav Martinů: Piano quartet no. 1 H 287
Antonín Dvořák: Piano quartet no. 1 D Major op. 23

Duration approx. 1 H.
Two Czech composers are at the center of this concert. In only 18 days Antonín Dvořák wrote his first piano quartet in D major op. 23 (1873). With its dazzling harmonies and expansive melodies, the work stands stylistically between Wagner influence and Dvořáks Slavic period. Bohuslav Martinůs Piano Quartet H 287 was composed in the USA after the composer had to flee Paris in 1941. The moving Adagio of the work, completed in 1942, is particularly noteworthy.

The brunch concerts take place on Sundays at 11.15 a.m., the lunch concerts on Mondays at 12.00 p.m. in the Hall of Mirrors of the Opera House and cost CHF 20 each (Legi: CHF 18).

If desired, the concerts can be combined with a culinary offer in the Restaurant Bernadette': On Sunday you can enjoy the Bernadette' brunch for CHF 40, on Monday an à la carte lunch. We kindly ask you to reserve a table for both offers at Bernadette' at www.bernadette.ch.

Past performances

November 2020




Von Prag nach Paris - cancelled

2nd Lunch Concert - cancelled, Spiegelsaal


Von Prag nach Paris - cancelled

2nd Apéro Concert - cancelled, Spiegelsaal