Don Giovanni

Dramma giocoso in two acts by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791)
Libretto by Lorenzo Da Ponte
Premiere of the production by Jürgen Flimm: 21. February 1999, Opernhaus Zürich

Don Giovanni

Video on Demand of the recording of «Don Giovanni» from 2001 will be available here free of charge until Sunday, March 21, 2021 at midnight.

You can enjoy the streaming of Don Giovanni free of charge. If you would like to express your joy and attachment with a donation, you are welcome to do so here. Thank you very much!

Cast

Musical direction Nikolaus Harnoncourt
Stage direction Jürgen Flimm
Stage design Erich Wonder
Costumes Florence von Gerkan
Lighting design Jürgen Hoffmann
Choirmaster Ernst Raffelsberger
Choreography Catharina Lühr

Don Giovanni Rodney Gilfry
Leporello László Polgár
Donna Anna Isabel Rey
Donna Elvira Cecilia Bartoli
Zerlina Liliana Nikiteanu
Don Ottavio Roberto Saccà
Masetto Oliver Widmer
Commendatore Matti Salminen

Orchester der Oper Zürich
Chor des Opernhauses Zürich

Presented by

Gallery

 

Photos «Don Giovanni»

«Mozart was an important milestone in Cecilia Bartoli’s career. She has always dazzled in Mozart roles on the stage of the Opernhaus Zürich.»

Andreas Homoki

Nikolaus Harnoncourt had a particularly intimate relationship with Mozart’s operas. The composer’s Don Giovanni, at once so perfect and so enigmatic, demands that, «you simply have to craft multiple versions, in order to approach the work from its many different sides». And that’s exactly what Harnoncourt did in Zurich. Twelve years after his first Don Giovanni with Jean-Pierre Ponnelle in 1987, Harnoncourt – known as a meticulous Mozart researcher – musically directed another production of the opera at the Opernhaus Zürich. This attempt afforded everyone, especially the orchestra, a rare chance to intensely engage with the opera.

For this, his second Mozart/Da Ponte cycle, Harnoncourt had a perfectly coordinated, world-class ensemble at his disposal. Cecilia Bartoli gave a brilliant and emotionally-charged debut in the role of the outwardly powerful but secretly fragile Donna Elvira. Making an especially noteworthy appearance is bass László Polgár, who was closely associated with the Opernhaus for many years. He makes his appearance here as Leporello, one of his celebrated roles. Bowing in the title role is Rodney Gilfrey, one of the greatest Don Giovanni interpreters of his time. He is both vocally and dramatically ideal in the role of the seducer.

Director Jürgen Flimm set his version of Mozart’s Don Giovanni exclusively at night. Flimm’s interpretation of the titular character – who makes his first appearance as an aggressive seducer – is persistently cloaked by darkness, so that he may live out his fantasies. His urge to conquer leads him from the married Donna Anna (Isabel Rey), to the peasant girl Zerlina (Liliana Nikiteanu) and to Elivira’s maidservant, and finally to an anonymous girl. As he moves from one to the next, his methods become increasingly brutal. Only his mysterious encounter with the Commendatore (Matti Salminen) allows Giovanni’s spiraling downfall to meet an unexpected end.

Don Giovanni

Dramma giocoso in zwei Akten von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Libretto von Lorenzo Da Ponte
Premiere der Inszenierung von Jürgen Flimm: 21. Februar 1999, Opernhaus Zürich

Don Giovanni

Das Video on Demand der Aufzeichnung von «Don Giovanni» aus dem Jahr 2001 steht Ihnen hier bis Sonntag, 21. März 2021, um 24.00 Uhr kostenlos zur Verfügung.

Das Streaming von Don Giovanni geniessen Sie kostenfrei. Möchten Sie Ihre Freude und Verbundenheit mit einer Spende zum Ausdruck bringen, dann können Sie dies gerne hier tun. Herzlichen Dank!

Besetzung

Musikalische Leitung Nikolaus Harnoncourt
Inszenierung Jürgen Flimm
Bühnenbild Erich Wonder
Kostüme Florence von Gerkan
Lichtdesign Jürgen Hoffmann
Chorleiter Ernst Raffelsberger
Choreografie Catharina Lühr

Don Giovanni Rodney Gilfry
Leporello László Polgár
Donna Anna Isabel Rey
Donna Elvira Cecilia Bartoli
Zerlina Liliana Nikiteanu
Don Ottavio Roberto Saccà
Masetto Oliver Widmer
Commendatore Matti Salminen

Orchester der Oper Zürich
Chor des Opernhauses Zürich

Präsentiert von

Fotogalerie

 

Fotogalerie «Don Giovanni»

«Mozart war eine wichtige Wegmarke in der Karriere von Cecilia Bartoli. Auf der Bühne des Opernhauses Zürich hat sie in den Mozart-Partien immer wieder brilliert.»

Andreas Homoki

Zu den Opern von Mozart hatte Nikolaus Harnoncourt ein besonders inniges Verhältnis. So perfekt und zugleich rätselhaft sei sein Don Giovanni, dass man auf jeden Fall mehrere Aufführungen gestalten müsse, die von verschiedenen Seiten an das Werk herangehen». Das hat Harnoncourt in Zürich getan. Nach seinem ersten Don Giovanni, 1987 zusammen mit dem Regisseur Jean-Pierre Ponnelle, erarbeitete der akribische Mozart-Forscher das Werk zwölf Jahre später bereits zum zweiten Mal am Opernhaus Zürich, was, insbesondere für das Orchester, eine seltene Intensität der Auseinandersetzung ermöglichte.

Im Rahmen dieses zweiten Mozart/Da Ponte-Zyklus' stand dem Dirigenten ein erstklassiges und perfekt aufeinander abgestimmtes Mozart-Ensemble zur Verfügung. In der Rolle der zwar stark auftretenden, aber innerlich höchst fragilen Donna Elvira gab Cecilia Bartoli damals ein fulminantes, emotionsgeladenes Rollendebüt. Besonders hervorzuheben in der Besetzung dieser Produktion ist auch der Bass László Polgár, der dem Opernhaus über viele Jahre eng verbunden war: Als Leporello ist er in einer seiner Paraderollen zu hören. Die Titelpartie singt der Amerikaner Rodney Gilfry, einer der grossen Don Giovanni-Darsteller seiner Generation, der den liebeshungrigen Verführer nicht nur stimmlich, sondern auch darstellerisch ideal verkörpert.

Der Regisseur Jürgen Flimm brachte Mozarts Don Giovanni konsequent als Nachtstück auf die Bühne. Sein Titelheld, der gleich zu Beginn des Stückes als übergriffiger Verführer vorgestellt wird, bedarf stets des Schutzes der Dunkelheit, um seine Begierden auszuleben. Sein Eroberungsdrang führt ihn von der verheirateten Donna Anna (Isabel Rey) über das Bauernmädchen Zerlina (Liliana Nikiteanu) und die Zofe Elviras bis hin zum anonym bleibenden Mädchen, wobei er zu immer brutaleren Mitteln greifen muss. Erst die mysteriöse Begegnung mit der Statue des Komturs (Matti Salminen) vermag dieser Spirale eines sozialen Niedergangs eine unerwartete Wendung zu geben.