Video on Demand

I Capuleti e i Montecchi

The premiere of the thrilling Zurich production of this bel canto gem, directed by Christof Loy and conducted by Fabio Luisi, was enthusiastically received by critics and audiences alike. The two protagonists also met with acclaim: experience world star Joyce DiDonato in the trouser role of Romeo, with the young Ukrainian soprano Olga Kulchynska at her side as Giulietta.

Rent / Buy

The Land of Smiles

For the new production of this operetta, world-class tenor Piotr Beczala returned to the Opernhaus Zürich as Sou-Chong. He has an equal partner in Julia Kleiter, who plays the role of Lisa. Fabio Luisi and Andreas Homoki also know that the genre of operetta requires particular care – which is why they have assumed personal responsibility for this production.

Rent / Buy

Nutcracker and Mouse King

Christian Spuck puts the literary origin at the heart of his ballet, emphasizing the fantastical nature of the original rather than the delightful Christmas fairytale and bringing back the fairy tale of the princess Pirlipat, who turns into a nut monster, as told by E.T.A. Hoffmann. 

Rent / Buy

Romeo and Juliet

Inspired by Prokofiev’s vivid music and the timeless quality of Shakespeare’s tragedy, choreographer Christian Spuck and the Ballett Zürich narrate the most famous love story in world literature using strong images that are full of enthralling theatricality and touching emotion. Michail Jurowski, a true Prokofiev expert, is at the rostrum of the Philharmonia Zürich. 

Rent / Buy

Messa da Requiem

With the „Messa da Requiem“, Christian Spuck brought one of Verdi’s key works to the stage. In a large-scale co-production by the Ballett and Oper Zürich, the German choreographer and director ventured to portray an unusual interpretation of Verdi’s funeral mass in his scenic-choreographic production. 36 dancers, the choir and supplementary choir of the Opernhaus Zürich as well as four highly acclaimed soloists joined together under the direction of Fabio Luisi for 13 wide-ranging scenes dedicated to one of the most fundamental themes of humanity.

Including documentary «Stepping into the unknown»

Rent / Buy

Werther

Juan Diego Flórez is undisputedly one of the best belcanto tenors of our times and embodies a tortured and nuanced Werther. “It’s not a profane appearance of any singer – it is an epiphany!” gushes the Neue Zürcher Zeitung in a rave review. At Flórez’s side, Franco-British mezzo-soprano Anna Stéphany sang her role début as Charlotte. The one-room staging by Tatjana Gürbaca cleverly makes the social stranglehold of oppression tangible.

Rent / Buy

Wozzeck

Alban Berg

Andreas Homokis nightmarishly radical production is inspired by puppet theatre. Christian Gerhaher’s role début as Wozzeck can only be described as sensational: his capacity for vocal and dramatic subtlety is simply breath-taking. At the rostrum of the Philharmonia Zurich, Fabio Luisi explores both the expressionistic and the more intimate aspects, reminiscent of chamber music, in Berg’s seminal score.

Rent / Buy

Weitere Aufzeichnungen sind in unserem Shop als physische DVDs und Blurays verfügbar. 
Zum Shop

Video on Demand

I Capuleti e i Montecchi

Vincenzo Bellini

Die hochspannende Zürcher Inszenierung dieses viel zu selten gezeigten Belcanto-Juwels durch Regisseur Christof Loy und das Dirigat von Fabio Luisi wurden an der Premiere von Presse und Publikum begeistert aufgenommen. Umjubelt wurden auch die beiden Protagonisten: In der Hosenrolle des Romeo ist Weltstar Joyce DiDonato zu erleben, an ihrer Seite singt die junge ukrainische Sopranistin Olga Kulchynska die Giulietta.

Ausleihen / Kaufen

Das Land des Lächelns

Fran Lehár

Für die Neuproduktion dieser Operette kehrte Weltklasse-Tenor Piotr Beczala als Sou-Chong an das Opernhaus Zürich zurück. Er hat eine gleichberechtigte Partnerin in Julia Kleiter, die die Rolle der Lisa spielt. Fabio Luisi und Andreas Homoki zeichnen für diese Produktion verantwortlich und gehen mit der Sorgfalt vor, nach der das Genre der Operette verlangt. Um die Opernelemente zu betonen, verdichtete er das Stück, strich mehrere Nebenrollen und verkürzte die Dialoge.

Ausleihen / Kaufen

Nussknacker und Mausekönig

Pyotr Tchaikovsky

Christian Spuck erzählt E.T.A Hoffmanns schwarzromantisches Märchen «Nussknacker und Mausekönig» und stellt den literarischen Ursprung, in den gängigen Ballettfassungen oft stark vereinfacht und vernachlässigt, in den Mittelpunkt seiner Choreografie. Somit kehren auch das normalerweise gestrichene Märchen rund um Prinzessin Pirlipat sowie die Vorgeschichte des zur Holzpuppe erstarrten Nussknacker-Prinzen wieder zurück in das Ballett.

Ausleihen / Kaufen

Romeo und Julia

Sergei Prokofiev

Christian Spuck erzählt die berühmteste Liebesgeschichte der Weltliteratur in starken Bildern voller packender Theatralik und berührender Emotionalität. Inspiriert von der farbigen und glutvollen Musik Sergej Prokofjews, die das Aufeinanderprallen von Liebe und Hass sowie das Nebeneinander von Zärtlichkeit und Gewalt auf geniale Weise einfängt, entsteht eine Unmittelbarkeit der Gefühle, der man sich nicht entziehen kann. Mit Michail Jurowski steht ein profunder Prokofjew-Kenner am Pult der Philharmonia Zürich.

Ausleihen / Kaufen

Messa da Requiem

Giuseppe Verdi

Mit der Messa da Requiem bringt Christian Spuck eines von Verdis Schlüsselwerkern auf die Bühne. In einer grossangelegten Koproduktion zwischen Oper und Ballett Zürich wagt er eine ungewöhnliche Interpretation von Verdis Totenmesse in seiner choreographierten Produktion. 36 Tänzerinnen und Tänzer, Chor und Zusatzchor des Opernhauses sowie vier hochkarätige Solisten kommen unter der Leitung von Fabio Luisi in dreizehn grossen Szenen zusammen, die sich einem der grundlegendsten Themen der Menschheit widmen.

inkl. dem Dokumentarfilm «Stepping into the Unkown»

Ausleihen / Kaufen

Werther

Jules Massenet

Juan Diego Flórez, unbestritten einer der besten Belcanto-Tenöre unserer Zeit, verkörpert einen gequälten und nuancierten Werther. „Dies ist kein gewöhnlicher Gesangsauftritt – es ist eine Epiphanie!“, schwärmt die Neue Zürcher Zeitung in einer begeisterten Kritik. An Flórez Seite gibt die französisch-britische Mezzosopranistin Anna Stéphany ihr Rollendebüt als Charlotte. Die nur in einem einzigen Raum spielende Inszenierung von Tatjana Gürbaca macht den gesellschaftlichen Würgegriff der Unterdrückung geschickt erlebbar.

Ausleihen / Kaufen

Wozzeck

Alban Berg

Andreas Homokis beklemmend-radikale Inszenierung ist vom Figurentheater inspiriert. Als schlichtweg sensationell darf das Rollendebüt von Christian Gerhaher als Wozzeck bezeichnet werden: Seine Fähigkeit zur vokalen und darstellerischen Nuancierung ist atemberaubend. Fabio Luisi am Pult der Philharmonia Zürich lotet die expressiven wie auch kammermusikalischen Seiten von Bergs Jahrhundertpartitur aus.

Ausleihen / Kaufen

Weitere Aufzeichnungen sind in unserem Shop als physische DVDs und Blurays verfügbar. 
Zum Shop