Preludes and Interludes

Fabio Luisi conducts the Philharmonia Zurich for the label release

The overtures and preludes by Richard Wagner not only are masterly composed openings to his dramatic works – as independent pieces they are also among the most popular compositions of the 19th century. For the first studio record of the new label Philharmonia Records general music director of the Opernhaus Zürich and the Philharmonia Zürich Fabio Luisi made his personal selection: it leads from the early overtures to Die Feen and Das Liebesverbot, in which Wagner still was oriented towards paragons such as Berlioz or Meyerbeer, through masterpieces as the preludes to Lohengrin and Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg and the famous «Walkürenritt» up to the mystically transfigured prelude from Parsifal. The record offers a cross section through Richard Wagner’s orchestral work and presents one of the most distinguished European opera orchestras – the Philharmonia Zürich.


  1. Parsifal - Vorspiel
  2. Siegfrieds Rheinfahrt
  3. Siegfrieds Trauermarsch
  4. Die Walküre - Walkürenritt
  5. Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg - Vorspiel
  6. Tristan und Isolde - Vorspiel
  7. Tristan und Isolde - Isoldes Liebestod
  8. Lohengrin - Vorspiel
  9. Tannhäuser - Vorspiel
  10. Rienzi - Ouvertüre
  11. Das Liebesverbot - Ouvertüre
  12. Die Feen - Ouvertüre

Fabio Luisi Conductor
Philharmonia Zürich

Richard Wagner
Preludes and Interludes

Recorded at the Goetheanum Basel, November 2014
Double-CD 123.26 min, DDD stereo
Booklet: German, English, French

CHF 32

incl. VAT., plus CHF 5 shipping costs


Since orders from abroad sometimes incur disproportionately high customs duties, we recommend purchasing via Amazon for orders outside of Switzerland. The CD Wagner, Preludes and Interludes can be found here.


Richard Wagner’s monumental compositions are still fascinating today. During the recording of the CD preludes and interludes Fabio Luisi and members of the Philharmonia Zürich express their own view on Wagner’s music.