With only 27 years, French piano player Lise de la Salle already belongs to the internationally most renowned performers on her instrument. From 2013 until 2015, she was invited as «Artist in Residence» to the Opernhaus Zürich where she performed Sergey Rachmaninov’s complete works for piano and orchestra together with General Music Director Fabio Luisi and the Philharmonia Zürich. The recordings of the five concerts are now released as a box by Philharmonia Records. Along with Rachmaninov’s world famous Piano Concertos No. 2 and 3, the recording also includes the young componist’s and piano virtuoso’s Opus 1 as well as the 4th Piano Concerto, written in American exile, and the virtuosic «Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini». With her special talent for the finest tonal nuances, Lise de la Salle is an ideal interpreter of these late-Romantic masterpieces of piano music.


  1. Vivace
  2. Andante
  3. Allegro Vivace
  4. Moderato
  5. Adagio sostenuto
  6. Allegro scherzando
  7. Allegro ma non tanto
  8. Intermezzo Adagio
  9. Finale Alla breve
  10. Allegro Vivace
  11. Largo
  12. Allegro Vivace
  13. Introduction Allegro vivace
  14. Variation 1 (Precedente)
  15. Tema L'istesso tempo
  16. Variation 2 L'istesso tempo
  17. Variation 3 L'istesso tempo
  18. Variation 4 Più vivo
  19. Variation 5 Tempo precedente
  20. Variation 6 L'istesso tempo
  21. Variation 7 Meno mosso, a tempo moderato
  22. Variation 8 Tempo
  23. Variation 9 L'istesso tempo
  24. Variation 10 Poco marcato
  25. Variation 12 Tempo di minuetto
  26. Variation 13 Allegro
  27. Variation 11 Moderato
  28. Variation 14 L'istesso tempo
  29. Variation 15 Più vivo scherzando
  30. Variation 16 Allegretto
  31. Variation 17 Allegretto
  32. Variation 18 Andante cantabile
  33. Variation 19 A tempo vivace
  34. Variation 20 Un poco più vivo
  35. Variation 21 Un poco più vivo
  36. Variation 22 Marziale. Un poco più vivo (Alla breve)
  37. Variation 23 L'istesso tempo
  38. Variation 24 A tempo un poco meno mosso

Fabio Luisi Conductor
Lise de la Salle Piano
Philharmonia Zürich

Sergej Rachmaninow
Piano Concertos 1-4
Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini

Live Recording
3 Compact Discs 159.52 min
Booklet: german, english, french

CHF 35

incl. VAT., plus CHF 5 shipping costs
Please note that any customs duties may apply to deliveries abroad.


As orders from abroad sometimes incur disproportionately high customs duties, we recommend buying via Amazon for orders outside Switzerland. You can find the CD here.